EOWC Appoints Chair and Vice-Chair for 2022

The Eastern Ontario Wardens’ Caucus (EOWC), at its annual inaugural meeting last week, appointed Warden Debbie Robinson to serve as the 2022 Chair and Warden Liz Danielsen as the 2022 Vice-Chair, both by acclamation.

Debbie Robinson is Warden of the County of Renfrew and the Reeve of the Township of Laurentian Valley and will be returning for her second term as the EOWC Chair. Liz Danielsen is Warden of the County of Haliburton and Deputy Mayor of the Township of Algonquin Highlands and is also returning for her second consecutive term as EOWC Vice-Chair.

The EOWC Chair and Vice-Chair serve as the main point of contact for the Caucus and play a leadership role in helping to ensure that key EOWC priorities move forward. Both positions are one-year terms, each filled by one of the 13 EOWC members. Appointments are based on a vote by the EOWC members or, in the case of a single candidate, an acclamation.

“It is an honour to once again take on the role of Chair of the Eastern Ontario Wardens’ Caucus in 2022,” states Warden Debbie Robinson. “The EOWC has a strong track record of working together and being proactive to find creative and innovative solutions. In reprising this role in 2022, I look forward to advancing EOWC priorities on behalf of the 103 municipalities and the 750,000 property taxpayers across rural eastern Ontario.”

“I am honoured to accept the nomination of my colleagues to continue on in the role of Vice-Chair for 2022,” states Warden Liz Danielsen. I look forward to collaborating with Chair Robinson and our fellow EOWC members to deliver value for our eastern Ontario communities in 2022.”

For the purposes of good continuity, the EOWC agreed to stay the course of its 2021 priorities for the initial months of 2022. This will inform meetings and advocacy during delegation meetings at the virtual 2022 Rural Ontario Municipal Association (ROMA) Conference, being held on Sunday, January 23 – Tuesday, January 25, 2022.

The Caucus will re-evaluate its strategic plan and priorities during the priority-setting EOWC meeting held in March 2022, as it has done in the past. 

The EOWC’s priorities heading into 2022 include:

  • Long-Term Care;
  • Ontario Health Teams; and
  • Affordable and Attainable Housing. 
ROMA 2023 Attendees

EOWC 2022 Chair Warden Debbie Robinson

Chair Peter Emon, Minister of Long-Term Care Paul Calandra, Vice-Chair Bonnie Clark, Mayor Doug Elmslie and MPP John Jordan

EOWC 2022 Vice-Chair Liz Danielsen