EOWC Appoints 2023 Chair and Vice-Chair

The Eastern Ontario Wardens’ Caucus (EOWC), during its annual inaugural meeting on January 12 and 13, 2023, appointed Renfrew County Warden, Peter Emon, to serve as the 2023 Chair and Peterborough County Warden, Bonnie Clark, to serve as the 2023 Vice-Chair, both by acclamation.

“It is an honour to sit on the Caucus once again and be appointed as the 2023 Chair. The EOWC has a strong track record of working together effectively on behalf of rural eastern Ontario and its communities. I look forward to the year ahead where we will continue to advance the region’s priorities.” – Chair Peter Emon

“As the new Vice-Chair, I already see the impressive value that the EOWC brings to the table on behalf of municipalities and our residents. I look forward to using my experience to champion EOWC’s priorities alongside Chair Emon, our caucus colleagues and staff.” – Vice-Chair Bonnie Clark

EOWC Chair Peter Emon was born and raised in the Ottawa Valley, went to Calabogie Elementary School, attended Renfrew Collegiate Institute and graduated from University of Windsor with a Bachelor’s Degree in Social Work. Chair Emon is active in his community as the Warden for Renfrew County, and the Reeve of the Town of Renfrew. Previously he was the Mayor of Greater Madawaska Township. For over two decades Chair Emon has served his communities with a focus on people and economic development.

EOWC Vice-Chair Bonnie Clark took office as the Warden of Peterborough County in December 2022. Her career in public service began over twenty years ago as a Township Councillor for then Otonabee Township. She has served as Deputy Mayor of the amalgamated Otonabee-South Monaghan Township and as a member of County Council since 2018. She has previously served as Chair of the Otonabee Region Conservation Authority and Peterborough Housing Corporation. Vice-Chair Clark is part of a proud farming family. She made her career in the healthcare industry as a registered nurse for 28 years. Vice-Chair Clark seeks to encourage collaboration with public, private and community organizations for the benefit of all people.


EOWC Hosts Federal and Provincial Members of Parliament

During the inaugural meeting, the EOWC met with Members of Federal and Provincial Parliament from across eastern Ontario, as well as the Ontario Government’s Associate Minister of Housing, to discuss joint priorities around housing and the EOWC’s ‘7 in 7’ regional housing plan, broadband, and economic development, among others.

Featured in the photo above are Associate Minister of Housing Michael Parsa, Mayor Steve Ferguson, Warden Mandy Martin, Warden Tony Fraser, MPP Nolan Quinn, Vice-Chair Bonnie Clark, MPP Stéphane Sarrazin, MPP Ted Hsu, Warden Normand Riopel, MP Cheryl Gallant, Chair Peter Emon, Warden Peter McLaren, Warden Liz Danielsen, Warden Ron Vandewal, Mayor Doug Elmslie, Warden Bob Mullin, Warden Nancy Peckford, MPP Ric Bresee, MP Francis Drouin, MPP Todd Smith.


EOWC Priorities

For the purposes of good continuity, the EOWC will stay the course of its 2022 priorities for the initial months of 2023. This will inform advocacy during EOWC’s delegation meetings at the 2023 Rural Ontario Municipal Association (ROMA) Conference, being held on Sunday, January 22 to Tuesday, January 24, 2023 in the City of Toronto.

The Caucus will re-evaluate its strategic plan and priorities during the priority-setting EOWC meeting held in March 2023, as it has done in the past.

The EOWC’s priorities heading into 2023 include:

  • Attainable and affordable housing
  • Health care human resources
  • Ontario Health Team’s governance and structure


About the EOWC

The EOWC in a non-profit organization comprised of the Heads of Council of 13 upper and single-tier municipalities across rural eastern Ontario. The Caucus supports and advocates on behalf of 103 municipalities and approximately 800,000 residents. The EOWC covers an area of nearly 50,000 square kilometres from Northumberland County to the Québec border. The EOWC has gained support and momentum by speaking with a united voice to champion regional municipal priorities and work with government, business leaders, media, and the public. For more information, visit EOWC’s website at www.eowc.org or Twitter account at @EOWC_ON.


Contact Us

Elected Officials
2023 EOWC Chair, Peter Emon – warden@countyofrenfrew.on.ca
2023 EOWC Vice-Chair, Bonnie Clark – warden@ptbocounty.ca

Meredith Staveley-Watson, Manager of Government Relations and Policy

Peter Emon 2023 EOWC Chair

2023 Chair Peter Emon, Warden of Renfrew County

2023 Inaugural Meeting

2023 Inaugural Meeting

Vice Chair Bonnie Clark

Vice Chair Bonnie Clark